LYS Honors Super Great Achievements

A big part of LYS is honoring “Louisiana’s Best” and recognizing all the “Super Great” achievements of our delegates, staff and alumni. From delegates being awarded “Group of the Day” to delegate alums being honored with the “No Man is an Island” award, there’s so much to celebrate at LYS.

Here are some of our 2015 award recipients:

Life Achievement Award in Honor of Roddy Richard

Recipient: Angela Guillory

This year, LYS was proud to honor Angela Guillory with the prestigious Life Achievement Award in honor of Roddy Richard. Guillory has served as the Associate Dean of Students and Director of Greek Life at LSU since 2006, and she is an outstanding representative of all that this award stands for — contributing to something bigger than oneself.

In 1987, the Louisiana Youth Seminar Board of Directors established the Life Achievement Award in honor of Roddy Richard, a former LYS staffer whose life was taken in a tragic accident. This award recognizes outstanding individuals whose character and purpose in life have lessened the burden of others and made this a better place for their fellow man.

“No Man is an Island” Outstanding Delegate Alumni Award

Recipient: Liz Baudoin Landry

In 2012, Louisiana Youth Seminar established the “No Man is an Island” Award in honor of an Outstanding Delegate Alumni who exemplifies the ideals of LYS and who has made exceptional contributions to something greater than his/herself since his/her time at LYS. 

This year, LYS was proud to recognize Liz Baudoin Landry with the award. Landry first attended LYS in 1975 and has been a supporter of LYS since then. She served two terms on the LYS Board of Directors and helped LYS with its recruitment efforts at Lafayette schools.

Hall of Fame

Inductees: Blake Fogleman, Trey LeBlanc and Callie Romero

Founded on the 10th anniversary of LYS, the LYS Hall of Fame honors those who have given 10 years of dedicated service to the Louisiana Youth Seminar. In honor of the 3 LYS founders, there can be 1, 2 or 3 people inducted in any one year… but never more than 3. 

Given that LYS is run almost entirely by volunteers, we consider the Hall of Fame to be our highest honor! This year, we were proud to induct Blake Fogleman, Trey LeBlanc and Callie Romero into the Hall of Fame. Thank you for your 10+ years of service to LYS. You are the best, better than the rest!

“5-Year” Club

5 Years: Gracie, Zach, Will, Caroline, Madeline, Conner, Glynn, Lawrence, Luke, Will

“5-Year Night” is a time-honored tradition where we recognize those LYS staffers who have given at least five years of service to LYS. Delegates will hear from the “5 Years” about how LYS has impacted their lives, what it is like to commit wholeheartedly to something bigger than themselves, and how truly “No Man is an Island” at LYS.

We are so proud of and grateful for all those who give so much of their time and talents to LYS and their communities. You are SUPER GREAT!

Alumni Profile: Norma Jane Sabiston, 1972 Delegate

Norma Jane Sabiston, 1972 delegate

1972 – Delegate from Abramson High School
Currently – Consultant and Owner, Sabiston Consultants

Norma Jane Sabiston came to LYS as a delegate in 1972 and was elected as “Most Outstanding Delegate”. She returned to serve as Counselor in 1973, 1974, 1975, and 1976. “NJ” served as Staff Assistant in 1977, 1978 and 1979 and then as Program Director in 1980, 1981, 1982, and 1983. 

Read More